The Trust believes that schools need to be autonomous if they are to be truly effective in serving their community. This means headteachers have the authority to lead and run their school, working with local governing boards, explicitly aligned with and committed to the Trust’s aims, values and practices. There is a clear scheme of delegation. The Trust’s key role is to provide the support and challenge required for the school to deliver and maintain excellence.

The Trust offers value to the school by providing expert support from the centre for: the leadership and delivery of teaching and learning; finance; HR; ICT; estates. It also provides a range of central services, such as financial and management information systems, payroll, IT and larger procurement where it is evident that such services will provide better value in terms of time and cost.

Governance Structure

Effective governance within the DET is achieved through a shared vision and a connected thread of delegated responsibility and accountability.  Whilst the Trust Board cannot ever delegate its accountability, it can delegate some of the detailed scrutiny, oversight and decision making.  The Governance structure is composed of:

Members: the Members ensure the Trust meets its charitable objectives by appointing the Trustees, agreeing to the articles of association and appointing the auditors. 

Trustees: the Trustees are the employer and are accountable to the Members.  The Trust Board carries out the core governance functions, ensures compliance and appoints the CEO.  They hold the executive leaders to account and are responsible for the development of the Trust, the strategic direction and strategic priorities. 

Local Governing Board (LGB) Governors: the LGBs are the link between the Trust, schools, families, students and the local communities. They provide scrutiny of the delivery of the Trust's objectives and monitor expenditure against the school's budget, holding the school's leadership to account.  For future details about each school's LGB, please visit: Dunraven School, Goldfinch Primary, Van Gogh Primary, The Elmgreen School, Rosendale Primary

If you wish to find out more about our Trust, please contact Kylie Burgess, Governance & Compliance Manager via



David Bryan CBE

Member of the National Council for Arts Council England and the chair of Working with Men, David has previously been a successful small business owner, director of Brixton Village Community Arts Centre, board member of the National Council for Voluntary Organisations and director of Community Foundation Network. He has worked with several charitable trusts such as Comic Relief, Barings Foundation, the City Bridge Trust and Trust for London in a variety of roles including grant panel member and grant assessor. At Camelot Foundation he was vice-chair of the board.  David designed and delivered the Arts Council England's training on Equality and Diversity for many years and has also held a number of lecturing posts at Birkbeck College, London South Bank University, Goldsmiths College and City Lit Institute.

Appointed - July 2011 (Founding Member)

Cathy Harvey

Formerly a technical sales specialist with IBM and then a local political organiser, Cathy is now a Citizens Advice adviser. She has been a school governor for 19 years, during which time she has been secretary of Lambeth Governors’ Forum, chair of governors at an outstanding local primary school as well as chair of Dunraven Educational Trust, where she is part of the team that steered the school through academy conversion.

Appointed - July 2011 (Founding Member)

Pat MacMahon

Pat taught art for many years in both secondary and all-through establishments, and then followed this by running a successful antiques business for 25 years. Pat is an active local community participant and in that role has sat on various local police and community health boards over many years.

Appointed - July 2011 (Founding Member)

Anne Hudson

Appointed - April 2020

Helen George

Appointed - September 2018

Phyllis Dunipace

Appointed - September 2021


Jennese Alozie

Term of office - July 2020 to July 2024

David Boyle CBE

Term of office - ex-officio

Kate Edwards

Term of office - July 2019 to July 2023

Malcolm Forbes

Chair of the Education & Standards Committee

Term of office - January 2020 to December 2023

Helen George, Chair

Term of office - October 2019 to October 2023

Cathy Harvey, Vice-Chair

Chair of the Finance & Assurance Committee

Term of office - November 2020 to November 2024

Ali Malsher

Health & Safety Link Trustee

Term of office - June 2019 to May 2023

Anthony Blaiklock

Term of office - June 2021 to June 2025

Sarah Tillotson

Safeguarding Link Trustee

Term of office - October 2021 to September 2025

Sarah Totham

Term of office - October 2021 to September 2025


Page Downloads Date  
Trust Scheme of Delegation December 2020 18th Dec 2020 Download
DET Deed of Variation of Funding Agreement Part 1 310818 29th Aug 2019 Download
DET Deed of Variation of Funding Agreement Part 2 310818 29th Aug 2019 Download
DET Register of Business Interests 2020-21 22nd Oct 2020 Download
DET Governance Structure FINAL for September 2021 26th Oct 2021 Download
Articles of Association December 2021 14th Dec 2021 Download